Join us

Vancity announces 2011 Board election results

Vancity announces 2011 Board election results

Vancouver, British Columbia.Vancity, Canada’s largest credit union, is pleased to announce the results of its 2011 Board of Directors election for the three positions available on its Board. 

“We had an unprecedented number of candidates seek candidacy for this year’s Board of Directors election and we’ve had great feedback from those members who used our new online voting system,” says Catherine McCreary, Chair of the Nominations and Election Committee. “Thank you to all the candidates who put themselves forward. We appreciate our members’ involvement in setting the direction of Vancity.”

The following three candidates had the highest total ballots cast: Patrice Pratt, Anita Braha and David Wong.  

Patrice Pratt

Patrice Pratt
Current Vancity Board Chair, Patrice was first elected to the Board in 2005 and again in 2008. A Strategic Planning Consultant, with over 30 years of involvement in the labour movement, Patrice is dedicated to ensuring accessibility for members of our community with disabilities. Patrice received 8,535 votes.

Anita Braha

Anita Braha
A Vancity member for 20 years, Anita Braha is a progressive lawyer, practicing and educating in human rights, labour, and freedom of information and protection of privacy areas.  She has run her own firm for over 16 years and has a long history of volunteer work in the community in both local and national organizations.  Anita received 7,573 votes.

David Wong

David Wong
A Vancity member for over ten years, David is a Chartered Accountant and currently Vice President and Master Limited Partnerships Controller for an SEC-listed corporation. David was appointed to the Board in December 2010, when former Director Ian Gill stepped down to return to his native Australia.

David is passionate about the arts and volunteers for many local arts organizations.  David received 7,364 votes.

The following is a list of the candidates and votes cast. Those marked with an* were those candidates recommended by the Nominations and Election Committee (which is made up of a majority of  four members-at-large and two sitting  Directors) and accepted by the Board. Candidates were evaluated for the values, skills, attributes and experience they could bring to the Board of Directors.

Results of Ballots Cast


*Patrice Pratt


*Anita Braha


*David Wong


*Geordie Henderson


*Kim Richter


Matt Hern


Wayne McKay


Jeff Gibbs


Gary Bizzo


Carol Gevers


David Cote


James Yang


Douglas Gook


Craig Horton


Scarlet Channe


Vinod Puri


Harry Deo


Del Hughes


Ritchie Bonneville


Ginny Martin


Derek Jay


Withdrawn candidate


Total votes



The election took place between April 5 and 30 and this year; 19,159 ballots totalling 51,689 votes were cast. This represents an increase of almost one per cent in ballots and an increase of 18 per cent of votes over last year. In 2011, 4.8 per cent of eligible members cast a ballot. This small increase is notable when viewed against a trend of declining voter turnout and will inform Vancity’s continued efforts to make it easier for members to vote.

Vancity’s Board of Directors is accountable to the membership. It provides oversight and sets the strategic direction of the credit union and its subsidiaries. All Directors are independent from management.

Read more for additional information on Vancity’s AGM.

About Vancity:
You’re part of something greater when you do business with Vancity.  We’re committed to making a positive impact on the quality of life where we live and work and beyond. Since 1994, we have invested over $194 million of our profits back to members and into the communities we serve. Vancity is a member of the Global Alliance for Banking on Values, a network of the world’s leading sustainable banks sharing the commitment to achieving triple bottom-line impact through responsible banking practices. Vancity is Canada’s largest credit union, with $14.5 billion in assets, more than 417,000 members and 59 branches throughout Metro Vancouver, the Fraser Valley, Victoria and Squamish.

Media Contact:
Lorraine Wilson