Join us

Three directors elected to Vancity Credit Union Board

May 7, 2024, Territories of Musqueam, Squamish and Tsleil-Waututh Nations/Vancouver B.C. - Vancity Credit Union members have elected board member Juvarya Veltkamp, and re-elected Joel DeYoung and Bill Chan to the credit union's Board of Directors. The three newly elected directors will join current board members, Chair Rita Parikh and directors Christie Stephenson, Heather O'Hara, Kristen Rivers, Opreet Kang and Patrick Nangle in the governance of Vancity.

"Thank you to all candidates for putting yourselves forward," said Board Chair Rita Parikh. “I'm delighted to welcome our new and returning directors, and acknowledge the depth of the skills, talent and dedication they are bringing to the board table in service of our members, Vancity employees and communities. We are very lucky to have them."

During the election, which took place from April 8-26, a total of 34,227 valid ballots were cast -- an increase in voter turnout over previous years. The three newly elected board members will serve a three-year term.

Here are the full results from Vancity's 2024 Board of Directors election:

Juvarya Veltkamp

Joel DeYoung

Bill Chan

  • Juvarya Veltkamp: 17,685 votes, Elected
  • Joel DeYoung: 16,951 votes, Elected
  • Bill Chan: 14,383 votes, Elected
  • Sarah Sidhu 14,318 votes
  • Bob Mann: 7,913 votes
  • Michael Hwang 6,134 votes
  • Aron Lageri 4,719 votes
  • Dorin Radu: 2,506 votes

“Empowering our members to shape board leadership is at the core of Vancity's values,” said Kristen Rivers, Chair of Vancity’s Nomination and Election Committee. “As a member-owned financial cooperative, active participation in our governance is fundamental. Thank you to all the members who made the effort to vote in this year's election.”

The British Columbia Financial Services Authority (BCFSA) mandates that a recommendation process be used for credit unions' board of directors' elections. This ensures the selection of highly qualified candidates who can provide effective oversight for large and complex financial institutions. The Vancity Nomination and Election Committee, complying with the provincial regulations, recommended five candidates – Bob Mann, Sarah Sidhu, Joel DeYoung, Bill Chan and Juvarya Veltkamp -- who best demonstrated the attributes and experience to strengthen the existing board. The Nomination and Election Committee is comprised of four Vancity members at large and two current board directors.

About Vancity

Vancity is a values-based financial co-operative serving the needs of its 570,000 member-owners and their communities, with offices and more than 50 branches located in Metro Vancouver, the Fraser Valley, Victoria, Squamish and Alert Bay, within the territories of the Coast Salish and Kwakwaka’wakw people. With $35.5 billion in assets plus assets under administration, Vancity is Canada’s largest credit union. Vancity uses its assets to help improve the financial well-being of its members while at the same time helping to develop healthy communities that are socially, economically and environmentally sustainable.

Media Relations
T: 778-837-0394