Join us

Mar 24: Vancity Announces Board Election Results

Vancity Announces Board Election Results

Vancouver — Vancity Credit Union announced the results of its 2004 Board of Directors election today, with two Directors continuing on in the role and one former Director returning to the Board.

Thirteen candidates ran for three Directors’ positions. Results include:

Doreen Braverman 4554
Bruce Ralston 4354
Reva Dexter 3859

Bruce Ralston, the current Board Chair, has been on the Board since1995; Reva Dexter has been on the Board for nine years, and Doreen Braverman was elected back onto the Board after serving as a Director from 2000 – 2003. Greg McDade will end his eight-year term as a Board Director.

Other results include:

Colin Booth 1065
Dave Hensman 1634
Greg McDade 3687
Richard Novek 39
Anders Ourom 865
Mark A Perry 1046
Shankar Roy 1482
Karie Smith 2213
John Wertschek 1442
Franca Zumpano 2763

“Vancity is built on the cornerstone of democracy and member participation is essential to keeping that alive. Our members set the direction for Vancity through the election process and we are grateful to them for ensuring that Vancity continues to thrive as a community-driven organization,” says Catherine McCreary, Chair, Election Committee for the Vancity Board of Directors.

Vancity is Canada’s largest credit union, with $9.3 billion in assets, 305,000 members, and 41 branches throughout Greater Vancouver, the Fraser Valley and Victoria. Vancity was chosen as the best place to work in Canada for 2005 by Maclean’s Magazine as part of its annual Canada’s Top 100 Employers issue. Vancity owns Citizens Bank of Canada, serving members across the country by telephone, ATM, and the Internet. Both Vancity and Citizens Bank are guided by a commitment to corporate social responsibility, and to improve the quality of life in the communities where we live and work.